India: Voting for Andhra by-polls begin, litmus test for Jagan

Tuesday, June 12, 2012
Hyderabad: The by-elections to 18 Assembly constituencies and the Nellore Lok Sabha seat (in Andhra Pradesh) began on Tuesday, the results of which are considered to pave a new path to the state politics.

It’s remarkable that the ongoing by-elections are not expected to lead to the fall of the Kiran Kumar Reddy government, but a ‘wave’ is expected in favour of Jaganmohan Reddy-led YSR Congress notwithstanding his arrest in the disproportionate assets case and corruption allegations against him.

Jagan’s arrest by CBI and the subsequent campaign by his mother YS Vijaya and sister Sharmila have in a way generated sympathy for the YSRC.

As the current trends indicate, the YSRC is the front-runner in almost all the onstituencies except Parkal in Warangal district of Telangana.

With over 46 lakh voters including 22,79,732 men and 23,33,844 women electors and 13 others, expected to exercise their franchise at 5,413 polling stations set up in the Nellore Lok Sabha constituency and 18 assembly segments, spread over 12 districts in the state.

According to State Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Bhanwar Lal, about 50,000 polling personnel including 138 companies of Central Armed Police Force (CAPF) have been deployed for the conduct of elections.
Webcasting of polling process is also being done.

With the state recording 100 per cent distribution of photo identity cards, the Election Commission has insisted that voters should produce their photo identity card or the authenticated voter slips distributed by the poll officials for establishing their identity before casting their votes.

The 18 assembly constituencies where bypolls are underway are: Parkal, Narsannapeta, Payakaraopet, Ramachandrapuram, Narasapuram, Polavaram (ST), Prathipadu (SC), Macherla, Ongole, Udayagiri, Rajampet, Kodur (SC), Rayachoty, Allagadda, Yemmiganur, Rayadurg, Anantapur Urban and Tirupati.

The counting of votes will be done on June 15 from 8 AM.
Next Post »