Indian Presidential poll on July 19

Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Arial view of Rashtrapati Bhavan.

New Delhi: The Election Commission (EC) on Tuesday announced that the elections for the next President will take place on July 19.

Addressing media persons at EC headquarters here in New Delhi, newly appointed Chief Election Commissioner V S Sampath said that notification for the poll would be issued on June 16.

The last date of nomination would be June 30 and the date of scrutiny July 2, he said, adding, nominations could be withdrawn by July 4.

“Polling will take place on July 19 and counting of votes will take place on July 22,” Sampath told reporters.

The electoral college for the Presidential poll is 4,896, constituting 776 Members of Parliament and 4,120 Members of Legislative Assemblies, including those of Delhi and Puducherry.

The total value of votes is 10,98,882 with that of MLAs being 5,49,474 and that of MPs being 5,49,408.

Nominated members of the Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and state Assemblies are not entitled to vote.
Next Post »